Brown Body Love

April 13, 2016

She didn’t like my brown body

She actually liked other white girls who like country music

She didn’t like my brown body rants

She didn’t like my impractical double major

She didn’t like my practical brown political anger

She didn’t like to listen to me

Except when I moaned

She didn’t like going home smelling like me

She didn’t like sleeping in my bed

But she liked sleeping in my room

She didn’t like the clutter in my room

But refused to help the clutter in her mind

She didn’t like my brown body hair that I refused to shave

She didn’t like that I eventually put my friends before her

But at that point I had decided that 

My friends like me

I like me

I love my brown body

I realized that I did not need another body to make my own feel good

I had to show my brown body radical self love

That she wouldn’t like nor understand

So white woman non-feminist lover

I had to stop loving on you

So I could start loving on me

2 thoughts on “Brown Body Love

Leave a comment